Time with the fam

So I just got back from my vacation with my Puerto Rican family on a cruise in the Caribbean for nine days!  It was probably one of the best Christmas vacations I’ve ever had thus far!  I reconnected with my grandmother, my cousins and so many more!  It was exactly what I needed.

The day after my last final, we flew to Miami and stayed there for three days just exploring South Beach and the downtown area before we met up with our family.  South Beach Miami was so beautiful!  I could definitely see myself living in Miami sometime soon… I’m sure of this.  Anyway, my family arrived two days later and at first, it was awkward.  It had been eight or nine years since I’ve last seen them and I kind of forgot what they were like, so I didn’t really know what to expect.  We went for dinner that first night and that was when I realized how much fun they really were.  We all had drinks that night and we caught up for a couple of hours but we soon went to bed because we had to board the cruise the next day.

Our first night on the cruise was fun!  Family members bought me drinks (during the entire cruise they were buying me drinks) and we talked and had a good time.  I was hungry and went to the buffet and ran into three of my cousins eating dinner.  We got to know each other better…we talked about sandwiches and stuff and it was fun.

I really enjoyed how around 12 or 1 o’clock, we would start drinking haha.  Someone in the family would invite me to a beer and we would continue drinking beers until our 6 o’clock dinner at the Villa Rosa.  Almost every night at dinner, I would have a mojito with my mom or some sort of drink (by this point, I’ve had at least 6 or 7 beers, but we paced ourselves).  After dinner, we would go to the bars and drink some more!  Whenever we were all together at the bar talking and drinking and playing games, those were my favorite memories of the cruise!  I had the time of my life!

The islands we went to were Jamaica, Cayman Islands, Cozumel Mexico, Belize, and the Bahamas.  I had the most fun in Cozumel, Mexico though.  But again, the most fun was after dinner at the bars when we were all together; it’s the family and the people you are with that makes anything special.

I needed this vacation to connect with my family from Puerto Rico.  I learned a lot of Spanish in the nine days I was with them and I am looking forward to visiting them in Puerto Rico soon!

Leave a Reply

